top of page

Venice


When my parents asked me which countries I wanted to visit in Europe, Italy was not among the first of my desired destinations. To be honest, 'Venice' to me is the nice beach in Southern California. You can certainly find nice beaches all over the coast of California, but you won't find the river canals and vibrant architecture of Venice, Italy anywhere in the states. I regret not educating myself on our destinations before the trip; otherwise, I probably would have adamantly vouched for Venice like my dad had. It was like the time Walk the Moon put on an AMAZING show at my school, but I didn't know the lyrics because I hadn't listened to their songs prior. Of course, I now know both Walk the Moon and Venice like the back of my hand! Okay, maybe not that well, but by the end of the three days, I collected a decent amount of information and photos to compile a quick guide to Venice!

Suso: The Best Gelato!

Suso is a hidden little shop of pleasant surprises. Their selection of flavors is not as plentiful as others, but there's bound to be at least one flavor that appeals to anyone. My dad LOVES Panettone, an Italian fruitcake-like Christmas bread, so of course, he got the Panettone flavor. At this point, my whole family was sick, but our congestion didn't stop us from experiencing the authentic flavor and richness of this amazing gelato! Suso is a bit hard to find, but definitely worth it for their unique offerings, including this cute and convenient wafer cup.

Murano & Burano Islands

Burano: Known for its colorful houses and tilted church building. Because everything was closed for Christmas, we

didn't stay long but thoroughly enjoyed the amalgam of colors, the leaning church tower, and the lighthouse.

Murano: Known for its glassblowing and marked by a majestic lighthouse.


JAMIE WONG
PHOTOGRAPHY
bottom of page